Before you begin driving, learn about Colorado car insurance

When driving in the Centennial State, whether you're hitting the slopes or going to the office, be sure your Colorado car insurance is up-to-date. 

Drivers who fail to present insurance documentation may be subject to fines of up to $500, points on their driving records, and, in some cases, license suspensions and community service obligations.

Additionally, to register a car, drivers must provide the Colorado Bureau of Motor Vehicles with proof of insurance. You can obtain Colorado car insurance quotes online if you require coverage or wish to switch providers.


Colorado's Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

The following minimum coverage amounts must be present on an insurance policy for any vehicles operated on Colorado roads:

  • $25,000 each person for bodily injury; $50,000 per accident.

  • Damage to property: $15,000 per incident.

  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured drivers.

  • $5,000 in medical expenses per accident.

By indicating your refusal on an option form, you can reject medical and uninsured motorist benefits.

You can carry extra supplementary coverages to better safeguard your vehicles and yourself. You can get help from a GEICO insurance advisor in determining the finest Colorado auto coverage for your requirements.

Teen Driver Licensing in Colorado

Colorado's teenagers must begin driver's education at the age of 15 if they wish to obtain their license when they are 16 years old. 

Before applying for a Colorado driver's license, teenagers must have held a learner's permit for at least a year in that state. 

According to Colorado law, minors are not allowed to use a phone while driving unless it is an emergency, or they need to call the police or fire department. 

Text messaging while driving is prohibited for drivers 18 and older unless it is an emergency, or they need to contact the police or fire service.

Depending on the age of the driver, several procedures must be followed to receive a license:

  • Before you can apply for a learner's permit, you must finish a 30-hour driving education course if you begin at or before the age of 15 and 6 months (minimum age 15). A permit holder can then apply for a driver's license if they have accrued 50 hours of driving experience, finished a 6-hour behind-the-wheel training course, and retained their permit for at least 12 months.

  • To qualify for a learner's permit, you must either finish a 30-hour driving education course or a 4-hour classroom driver awareness program if you begin between the ages of 15 and 6 months and 16 years old. Those who have kept their permit for at least 12 months and have accumulated 50 hours of driving time (plus six hours of behind-the-wheel training if they are under 16 years and six months when they apply for a license) are then eligible to apply for a driver's license.

  • No prior driver's education is necessary to be able to apply for a learner's permit if you start at age 16 or 17. Permit holders can then apply for a driver's license after accruing 50 hours of driving experience and holding their permit for at least a year. Optional additional instruction behind the wheel for 6 hours.

For the first year, unless accompanied by a trainer, parent, or legal guardian, licensed driving is not permitted between the hours of midnight and five in the morning.


Information on Colorado Registration

If you recently relocated to Colorado, you have 30 days from establishing Colorado residency to apply for a Colorado title and registration for your car. 

You must submit your application to the county where you currently reside motor vehicle office.

The following records are necessary:

  • Your out-of-state title or current out-of-state registration.

  • You must provide proof of a Colorado vehicle emissions test if you reside in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Douglas, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pitkin, or Weld counties.

  • A vehicle identity verification form (DR 2087) filled out by a police officer, a certified Colorado car dealer, or a certified Colorado emissions testing facility.

  • With a precise and up-to-date mileage reading.

  • Proof of auto insurance coverage, such as a letter from your insurance company on letterhead paper, an insurance card, or a copy of your policy.

  • If the lienholder is not identified on the out-of-state title or registration, the lienholder's name and address must be provided if a lien is recorded on an out-of-state title.

The title and registration fees must be paid when you get to the county motor vehicle office.

If there are no liens recorded against the car, you will get your Colorado title in the mail. The title will be mailed to the lienholder if there is one. For delivery, please wait 4 to 6 weeks. 

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post



Contact Form